Mama weer all crazee now

Life being what it is, I have hardly blogged at all the last four years.  But perusing some of my old posts I came across this:

I suspect that we are in the beginning of upheavals –economic, political and social– on a historic scale and the landscape might look very different in just a few short years.  We could hope that a spiritual realignment will come out of this too.    It’s been apparent to me that nobody is a moral relativist when it’s their own ox being gored, and between layoffs and 401Ks a lot of us have been gored.  I hope people will wake up and recognize relativism for the contrivance and evasion it is, and start looking around for a worldview with staying power.  And we will need it, because it seems to me that if many more people reject the values of democratic pluralism we could be into a rather ugly form of dictatorship.  I know I sound a bit unhinged, but in the past when the same factors have been in play the outcome hasn’t been good.  People don’t realize what a historical anomaly democracy really is.

Today I’m feeling less unhinged about saying that.

Leave a Reply

